Patanjali Maharshi gathered the techniques of Raja Yoga, systematized, and codified them into the branch called Ashtanga Yoga – The Eight Steps or Parts.

These Steps are:

Yama                       Universal Values / Order

Niyama                    Individual Discipline

Asana                       Physical Poses

Pranayama             Regulation of Prana

Pratyahara              Internalizing or Inward Sensing

Dharana                   Disciplining or moderating the Intellect

Dhyana                    Silencing

Samadhi                   Expansion of Awareness

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *